Workshop « Working days on design and characterisation of innovative noise reducing materials and structures »

DENORMS Action’s forth Workshop “Working days on design and characterisation of innovative noise reducing materials and structures” will be held from 9th to 10th October 2018 in Kuopio (Finland), organised by University of Eastern Finland.

The aim of this workshop is to foster collaboration and exchange of ideas between researchers working on different topics centred around noise reducing treatments. Up to 9 working groups will be established with the total number of participants not exceeding 45.

It is expected that within each group the participants develop a detailed collaboration program. The outcomes of each program should be new grant applications, publications, and detailed work plan – all to be completed within a year from the date of the meeting.

For more information, see the Workshop flyer and tentative agenda.

Registration and group details submission

Participation in the Workshop is free of charge, but registration is mandatory. The Workshop is limited to 45 participants. Deadline: 24th June 2018.

30 support grants will be provided on competitive basis to participants. These grants are contribution to the travel, accommodation and meal expenses: 100 EUR per night (3 nights maximum), 20 EUR per meal, reimbursement of the transport (most economic way of transport).

Travel and accommodation

Participants are expected to arrange their own travel and accommodation.

Bus line 40 operates from Kuopio city centre to Kuopio Airport. Single ticket price for a trip from Airport to Kuopio city is 5,50 € (see the timetable).

Individual rooms have been pre-booked at Hotel Scandic Atlas (next to the marketplace in Kuopio downtown) at a preferential rate of EUR 89 (single room) or EUR 104 (double room) per night incl. breakfast, guest sauna, and internet access. Guests can book individually by phone (+358 300 870 423) or email ( giving the name « DENORMS », before 7th September 2018.

Organising committee

Timo Lähivaara (Local organiser)
Jean-Philippe Groby (DENORMS Chair)
Olga Umnova (DENORMS Vice-Chair)
Mélanie Garcia Villar (DENORMS Grant Manager)
Daniel Torrent  (Working Group 1 Leader)
Tomasz Zielinski (Working Group 1 Co-Leader)
Bart Van Damme (Working Group 2 leader)
Nicolas Dauchez (Working Group 2 Co-Leader)
Arnaud Duval (Working Group 3 Leader)