Workshop on « Dedicated manufacturing and experimental techniques for acoustic metamaterials and acoustic treatments »

DENORMS Action’s third Workshop on “Dedicated manufacturing and experimental techniques for acoustic metamaterials and acoustic treatments” will take place from 5th to 7th February 2018 in Leuven (Belgium), co-organised by KU Leuven and Siemens Industry Software NV.

In this occasion, leading experts will share their knowledge with other researchers, PhD students, young scientists and engineers from all across Europe. Three sessions, each introduced by a plenary lecture, are proposed:

  • Psychoacoustics of metamaterials and acoustic treatments
  • Experimental techniques for testing metamaterials and vibro-acoustic treatments
  • Manufacturing techniques for acoustic and mechanical metamaterials

Three Working Group meeting will be held in the framework of the Workshop.

For more information, see the Workshop flyer and agenda.

Registration and abstract submission

Abstract/poster submission is closed! 

Registration is closed!

Travel and accommodation

Participants are expected to arrange their own travel and accommodation. 25 individual rooms have been pre-booked at Ibis budget (near the train station) at a preferential rate of EUR 67.45 per room, per night incl. breakfast. Guests can book individually by phone, email or fax (see reservation form) giving the name « DENORMS 2018 ». The local organisers also recommand Leuven’s Irish college (no preferential rate) or La Royale (near the train station), Hotel Mille colonnes (near the train station) and Hotel industrie (near the train station). To share/discuss with other participants, you can use the event’s Facebook page.

A contribution to the travel, accommodation and meal expenses will be available for participants who are presenting an abstract during the Workshop: 100 EUR per night (3 nights maximum), 18 EUR per meal, reimbursement of the transport (most economic way of transport). Priority will be given to PhD students and Early Career Investigators (i.e. researcher whose career spun less than 8 years since the date of the PhD).

Organising Committee

Jean-Philippe Groby (DENORMS Chair)
Olga Umnova (DENORMS Vice-Chair)
Nicolas Dauchez (Working Group 2 Co-Leader)
Monika Rychtarikova (Working Group 2 Co-Leader)
Pauline Rasera (DENORMS Grant manager)
Laurent De Ryck (Siemens Industry Software NV)
Jacques Cuenca (Siemens Industry Software NV)
Elke Deckers (KU Leuven)
Christ Glorieux (KU Leuven)

Scientific Committee

Elke Deckers (KU Leuven/PMA, Belgium)
Laurent de Ryck (Siemens Industry Software NV, Belgium)
Wim Desmet  (KU Leuven/PMA, Belgium)
Christ Glorieux  (KU Leuven/FYS, Belgium)
Bert Roozen  (KU Leuven/FYS, Belgium)
Monika Rychtarikova (KU Leuven/BWK, Belgium)
Kristian Jambrosic (University of Zagreb, Croatia)
Nicolas Dauchez (UTC Compiègne, France)
Henry Rice (Trinity College, Ireland)
Chiara Scrosati (ITC CNR, Italy)
Jesus Carbajo (Universidad de Alicante, Spain)
Bruce Drinkwater (University of Bristol, UK)
Steven Cummer (Duke University, UK)